Les enfants sont en crise. Nous appelons à une intervention d'urgence.

Partout au Canada, la COVID-19 a eu des effets dévastateurs sur la santé mentale et physique des enfants. Les fermetures d'écoles, le manque d'accès aux programmes sportifs et récréatifs et l'isolement social ont fait un lourd tribut aux jeunes. L'urgence de soutenir les enfants et les jeunes n'a jamais été aussi grande.

Children First Canada et ses partenaires déclarent #codePINK - un terme utilisé pour les urgences pédiatriques.

Nous demandons une réunion urgente des premiers ministres du Canada afin de prendre des mesures immédiates pour régler la crise que connaissent les 8 millions d'enfants de notre pays.

Cela comprend la réouverture en toute sécurité des écoles, des camps, des parcs et autres installations récréatives le plus rapidement possible. Nous exhortons également les dirigeants gouvernementaux à étendre les programmes de soins virtuels, à réduire les arriérés pour les chirurgies et la réadaptation, à investir dans de nouveaux modèles de programmes de santé mentale pour répondre aux demandes urgentes et croissantes et à planifier maintenant un retour à l'école en toute sécurité à l'automne.

Les menaces qui pèsent sur les enfants se sont multipliées depuis la pandémie.

Les admissions pour tentative de suicide ont augmenté de 100% en moyenne chez les enfants et les jeunes pendant la pandémie (Soins de santé pour enfants Canada). Le McMaster Children's Hospital rapporte une augmentation de 200%.

Les troubles liés à l'usage de substances ont augmenté de 100% par rapport à l'année dernière et l'utilisation d'opioïdes potentiellement mortels a également augmenté (McMaster Children's Hospital).

Les taux de maltraitance des enfants ont fortement augmenté, avec une augmentation de 100% des cas de nourrissons présentant des fractures et des traumatismes crâniens depuis septembre 2020 (CHEO). Il y a également eu des pics de cas signalés de négligence nutritionnelle et de famine (BC Children's Hospital).

62% de parents disent que la pandémie a exacerbé les problèmes de santé mentale d'au moins un de leurs enfants. (Source : Inspiring Health Futures & Abacus Data, juin 2021)

La demande de services de santé mentale pour enfants va probablement augmenter, si ce n'est déjà fait. 54% des parents prévoient accéder à des services de santé mentale plus professionnels pour leurs enfants. (Source : Inspiring Health Futures & Abacus Data, juin 2021)

 

Les enfants sont confrontés à des défis sans précédent.

Parmi les enfants âgés de 6 à 18 ans, 70% signalent que la pandémie a nui à leur santé mentale dans au moins un domaine, comme l'anxiété ou la capacité d'attention (Fondations des hôpitaux pour enfants du Canada).

De plus en plus d'enfants et de jeunes ont besoin de soins d'urgence. Il y a eu une augmentation 61% des visites à l'urgence chez les enfants et les jeunes pour des problèmes de santé mentale au cours de la dernière décennie (Institut canadien d'information sur la santé). SickKids signale une nouvelle augmentation de 25% pendant la pandémie.

Les arriérés chirurgicaux ont augmenté de 24% par rapport à la même période l'an dernier (SickKids). Environ les deux tiers de ces patients ont attendu plus longtemps que la durée recommandée pour leur chirurgie, selon les objectifs canadiens d'accès pédiatrique pour la chirurgie.

61% des parents s'attendent à des effets résiduels de la pandémie sur la santé mentale de leurs enfants - même après la fin de la pandémie - et 17% s'attendent à ce que ces impacts soient à long terme. (Source : Inspiring Health Futures & Abacus Data, juin 2021)

 

Seulement un quart des parents disent avoir reçu un soutien adéquat de tous les niveaux de gouvernement tout au long de la pandémie. Les 75% restants disent soit qu'ils en ont reçu, mais cela n'a pas été suffisant (42%), soit qu'ils n'ont reçu aucun soutien (33%). (Source : Inspiring Health Futures & Abacus Data, juin 2021)

Les enfants ne vont pas bien. Ils méritent mieux.

The #codePINK momentum is building!

855,000

Twitter impressions

612,980

Facebook and Instagram impressions

In the News

646 articles

(including reprints) were published or broadcast –
reaching a total of

74,366,269

unique views!

The majority of #codePINK news coverage has been in Canada, but there has also been coverage in the U.S., Germany, U.K. and France.

Let’s continue to raise our voices for children and youth in Canada!

Voulez-vous nous rejoindre?

Voici comment vous pouvez déclarer  #codePINK:

Étape 1: Dessinez une croix d'urgence sur votre main. Vous pouvez utiliser un marqueur rose, de la peinture ou même du rouge à lèvres.

Étape 2: Prenez un selfie en tenant votre main vers l'appareil photo, comme sur les photos ici.

Étape 3: Partagez votre photo sur les réseaux sociaux et expliquez pourquoi vous déclarez  #codePINK.

Voici un exemple de tweet:

Je déclare un #codePINK parce que les enfants méritent d'être en bonne santé et d'atteindre leur plein potentiel. Rejoignez l'appel ici! https://bit.ly/3tUhXlD

Rester informé!

Newsletter en ligne

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour les dernières mises à jour, événements et informations.

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Hockey Coach Runs Marathon for Kids in Crisis

When Wes Wolfe heard about the crisis facing kids through Children First Canada’s (CFC) #codePINK campaign, he wanted to do something about it. Based in Ontario, the head coach of the Cobourg Cougars set out to run a full marathon (42.2 K) to promote the rights and well-being of kids...

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Statement Regarding Alberta Lifting Public Health Restrictions During COVID-19 Pandemic

Calgary, July 30, 2021 – Earlier this week, the Province of Alberta announced plans to lift public health restrictions to curtail the spread of COVID-19, putting children and youth at very grave risk. The change in policy includes no longer requiring mandatory isolation of people who test positive for COVID-19,...

EN SAVOIR PLUS

The Clock is Ticking: The Child Mental Health Crisis Rages on While Parliament Breaks for the Summer and an Election Looms

Ottawa, June 29, 2021 – Canada’s top advocates and experts united to declare a #codePINK (a term used for pediatric emergencies) and called on federal and provincial leaders for an emergency response to address the crisis affecting children’s mental and physical health. Forty days later, they are still waiting for...

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Nouvelle ressource de politique et de programme pour atténuer les impacts de COVID-19 sur les enfants

Children First Canada a publié une nouvelle ressource pour aider à atténuer les impacts des fermetures d'écoles COVID-19 sur les enfants et les jeunes. Cette ressource s'appuie sur le succès de l'outil interactif en ligne créé par Statistique Canada et Children First Canada en mars et sert de document d'accompagnement au...

EN SAVOIR PLUS
Charger plus

La campagne #CodePINK a été organisée par Children First Canada, un organisme de bienfaisance national qui sert de voix forte, efficace et indépendante pour les 8 millions d'enfants au Canada.

Des organisations de santé pour enfants de partout au pays se sont jointes à cet effort, notamment l'Alberta Children's Hospital Research Institute, les Fondations des hôpitaux pour enfants du Canada, le CHEO, Children's Healthcare Canada, le Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital, le McMaster Children's Hospital, le Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) et le Table ronde sur la santé des jeunes Canadiens.

Kids are in crisis. We’re calling for an emergency response.

Across Canada, COVID-19 has led to devastating effects on the mental and physical health of kids. School closures, the lack of access to sports and recreational programs, and social isolation have taken a high toll on young people. The urgency to support children and youth has never been greater.

Children First Canada and its partners are declaring #codePINK – a term used for pediatric emergencies.

We’re calling for an urgent meeting of Canada’s First Ministers to take immediate action to address this crisis facing the 8 million kids in our country.

This includes safely reopening schools, camps, parks and other recreational facilities as quickly as possible. We’re also urging government leaders to scale up virtual care programs, reduce backlogs for surgeries and rehabilitation, invest in new models of mental health programs to meet the urgent and rising demands, and plan now for a safe return to school in the fall.

Threats to kids have multiplied since the pandemic.

Suicide attempt admissions have increased by 100% on average among children and youth during the pandemic (Children’s Healthcare Canada). McMaster Children’s Hospital reports a 200% increase.

Substance-use disorders have increased by 100% compared to last year and the use of potentially deadly opioids has also increased (McMaster Children’s Hospital).

Child abuse rates have risen sharply, with a 100% increase in cases of infants presenting with fractures and head trauma since September 2020 (CHEO). There have also been spikes in reported cases of nutritional neglect and starvation (BC Children’s Hospital).

62% of parents say the pandemic has exacerbated the mental health challenges of at least one of their children. (Source: Inspiring Health Futures & Abacus Data, June 2021)

Demand for children’s mental health services is likely to see a surge, if they haven’t already. 54% of parents plan to access more professional mental health services for their children. (Source: Inspiring Health Futures & Abacus Data, June 2021)

 

Kids are facing unprecedented challenges.

Among children aged 6 to 18, 70% report that the pandemic has harmed their mental health in at least one area, such as anxiety or attention span (Canada’s Children’s Hospital Foundations).

More children and youth are seeking emergency care. There has been a 61% increase in ER visits among children and youth for mental health conditions over the last decade (Canadian Institute for Health Information). SickKids reports a further 25% increase during the pandemic.

Surgical backlogs have increased by 24% compared to the same time last year (SickKids). Approximately two-thirds of these patients have been waiting longer than the recommended lengths of time for their surgeries, according to the Paediatric Canadian Access Targets for Surgery.

61% of parents expect residual effects of the pandemic on their children’s mental health – even after the pandemic is over – and 17% expect these impacts will be long term. (Source: Inspiring Health Futures & Abacus Data, June 2021)

 

Only a quarter of parents say they have received adequate support from all levels of government throughout the pandemic. The remaining 75% either say they’ve received some, but it hasn’t been enough (42%), or they say they haven’t received any support at all (33%). (Source: Inspiring Health Futures & Abacus Data, June 2021)

The kids are not alright. They deserve better.

Will you join us?

Here’s how you can declare  #codePINK:

Step 1: Draw an emergency cross on your hand. You can use a pink marker, paint, or even lipstick.

Step 2: Take a selfie while holding your hand up to the camera, just like in the pictures here.

Step 3: Share your photo on social media and explain why you’re declaring  #codePINK.

Here’s a sample tweet:

I’m declaring a #codePINK because kids deserve to be healthy and reach their full potential. Join the call here! https://bit.ly/3tUhXlD

Stay informed!

Inline Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter for the latest updates, events and information.

Learn More

Ontario’s decision not to reopen schools is a colossal failure and falsely pits children against the economy

Toronto, June 2, 2021 – The Ontario government announced today that students will not return to in-class learning before September, meanwhile plans to reopen the economy – including non-essential businesses – are still underway. Children First Canada calls upon the Ontario government to make children and youth a priority and...

More
Load More

The #CodePINK campaign has been organized by Children First Canada, a national charitable organization that serves as a strong, effective and independent voice for all 8 million children in Canada.

Children’s health organizations from across the country have joined this effort, including Alberta Children’s Hospital Research Institute, Canada’s Children’s Hospital Foundations, CHEO, Children’s Healthcare Canada, Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital, McMaster Children’s Hospital, The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) and the Young Canadian’s Health Roundtable.